Mason’s Birth Story.

I will start off with my appointment on Tuesday. I had finally been able to see my midwife, I had been seeing the Nurse Practitioner for the past 12 or so weeks because my midwife kept getting called for deliveries. We went over my birth plan and I was confident and ready to go into labor. Before leaving she told me that she would be out of town on Saturday, as will the OB I would prefer to back up, leaving me with the OB I was petrified of.  I lost it. After finally pulling myself together, I walked out thinking what are the chances?

Friday night I kept waking up to contractions, all I thought was this is not happening, they will stop. Saturday morning around 7:30am I decided to start timing them. Great. They were 3-5 minutes apart and 45 seconds long. 2 hours later they went down to 2 minutes apart but only lasting for 30 seconds. Jordan took the girls outside so I could try and rest in between. After about an hour I decided I should get up and shower to see if it would help. They were still coming consistently. At this point I went to Jordan and said that we should go for a walk and not try and stall this out, I don’t see them stopping. So my in-laws came over and took the girls for lunch while we went on a walk. Intensity had changed and I had asked our doula and birth photographer to start making their way here. Once they arrived I labored on the birth ball for some time and decided to try another walk.

img03
img16
img25
We didn’t make it to the end of the sidewalk when I said it’s time to go.
img27
We arrived at the hospital around 2pm. I was admitted into triage where I told the nurse I am clearly in labor could you just send me back without a vaginal exam. She said she would have to ask the OB. Knowing it would take more time, I just said to do the exam. All I wanted to do was get into a tub at this point. She checked me and I was 7-8 with a very bulgy bag.

img30
img32

Once we got into our room, I had asked that the tub be started right away. I was on the strip for maybe 10 minutes before I was in the tub. I was in there for maybe 2 hours and started feeling pressure.

img40
img46
I had wanted to deliver in the tub, but I had just wanted out and to lay down. When I got out the OB checked me and said I was 5-6. I yelled and said it wasn’t possible, but it was probably because I was checked by two different people or was checked during a contraction the first time. Either way I wasn’t letting it get me down.
img63

I got in bed and tried side lying and getting on my hands and knees using the birth ball. My legs were so tired at this point.

img69
img78
img81
img83
I had started to feel a ton of pressure and tried to work through them, but I had to push. I had asked the nurse to page the OB to come in and break my waters. I felt like the baby was up so high still. She came into check me and I was complete. I immediately told her to break my waters. Once she did it was an instant relief. I started pushing, and pushing and pushing. I was up on my hands and knees, standing, squatting, the routine on your back pushing that most hospitals encourage, side lying, I did tug of war, and I just felt like I wasn’t making any progress.
img89
img98
img102
img107
My OB had mentioned that the baby was OP (or sunny side up) and tried to turn the baby into a more favorable position. Finally baby started to come through and after an hour of pushing I could see the baby’s head, oh sweet relief!! Once the baby’s shoulders were out I reached down and pulled my baby onto my chest. Jordan announced that “it was a boy”, I couldn’t believe it. I did it, all on my own, all natural and I would do it again in a heart beat! On November 2, 2013 at 6:56pm I delivered my third child, A BOY! Weighing 8lbs 2oz and 21″ long.

img110
img120
img134

There is a moral to my story as well. Being a doula, I heard a lot of “horror” stories about this particular OB, and I think having met her before birth probably would’ve made me feel even worse because she doesn’t have that warm and bubbly bedside manner that I so much enjoy with my midwife. I believe that this happened at the perfect time, giving me an opportunity to work with her. She was the perfect provider for my birth. I didn’t want someone to be my friend at this time, I needed someone to be quiet and support me when I needed which is exactly what she did.

1465722_10100831965516462_1047118191_o

 

Thank you to my wonderful husband, Jordan. I couldn’t ask for a better partner in life. Wendy, my doula, friend, and mentor is awesome and I would recommend her to everyone! Thank you for being there for me when I needed you the most. April is a great photographer! Thank you for capturing these memories, I still look back at them often!

